Willis on his Spring success

Willis quotes (Freep):

“I’m a part of this team. Whatever they want me to do. I’m rooting for the other guys as much as I’m rooting for myself. That’s my name right next to the logo. I am part of the team.” 

“I made quality pitches. When I got in trouble, I was able to minimize the damages. Sometimes you have to make adjustments. I focused on getting outs, not blowing anyone away. I haven’t always done that.” 

“I’m working on making adjustments when I need to this spring. For the first time in awhile, I am pitching with confidence and having fun.” 

Leyland on back end of rotation, “None of them have gotten their socks knocked off. It’s a tough call, but I like the way (Willis) has changed. When he walked the first two guys, last year, I would have been concerned. This year, I’m not worried. This year, I knew he wouldn’t blow up out there.”

Leave a Reply

