Mayhew on Pacman

From The Detroit News

“I would say nothing’s imminent,” Mayhew said. “But we’re definitely tracking that and gathering more information. And he’s a guy that has a skill set that would help us.”

Asked about the Lions interest in Pacman: “If it was ‘strong’ I think we would’ve signed him after the workout,” Mayhew added. “He had a really good workout, from what I understand. But we need to do some more research on him.”

“He hasn’t been in trouble for almost two years now,” Mayhew said of Jones, who was arrested six times during his three years with the Titans and was suspended for the 2007 season for multiple violations of the NFL’s personal conduct policy. “That’s a pretty big hoop to jump through. That’s a good sign. Talking with Deion about him, and where he is in his life, he had a lot of positive things to say. I’d like to sit down and talk with him myself personally. We don’t have a date set up, but I would think that’d be a next step for us.”

“I think he’s had another year of being clean, staying out of trouble,” Mayhew said. “I think he’s got a better situation, a more stable situation. He’s gotten a lot of people out of his life who were in his life prior to now, from what I understand. He’s ready to play and perform and work out for teams. So I think that’s kind of bringing things to a head in terms of his availability. I think he’s planning on playing in 2010.”

Leave a Reply

